Is Western Union the only best option for transfers to and fro?

Hello,

I am trying to make transfers to and fro USA and EC, but Western Union charges 8-20 dollars per transfer from USA to Ecuador.

I looked into Paysera, they say Ecuador is in their support list, yet the customer service rep says it won't work for transfers between USA and EC, and only between USA and EU. They are supposed to be like Paypal but not broken in EC.

Are there any other options or are we just bound to Wires and WU?

Thanks@all!

Max

Besides bank wires, WU is probably your best option.

I am a Canadian but resident in Eçuador more than 7 years.    I now find that the easiest and least expensive way to transfer funds is via a Visa transfer directly from my Bank, TD, specifically my cash or debit account to my account de ahorras in my Ecuador bank, Produbanco.  At both ends you use your Visa debit, not credit, card number.  Transfer is online and hapoens usually in less than a day.  Cost for just under $2500 Cdn.  Is, I think, just under $13.00 Cdn. and no need to walk anywhere.  You can transfer higher amounts but cost goes up.  I am assuming US banks have something similar.  In my Canadian bank it is called a Global Transfer and shows up online.

Another not directly related but important financial issue is credit cards.  If you are over 60, think this is the cut off age, you cannot apply for a new credit card in Ecuador, no matter how much money you have in accounts.  The law here limits by age new card applications.  So very important to leave your home country with preferably 2 different Visa or Mastercards, especially if you want to travel.

If you have a US bank account, you can use Zelle. It's a free service with all US based accounts to transfer money to businesses or individuals, in or out of the country.