How to keep your things safe in an Airbnb or apartment

Hi,

This may be naive or plain stupid, but I'm gonna ask anyways.   :)

I will be traveling with my laptop, camera, etc.  I've always stayed at hotels in Vietnam and would leave my laptop with the receptionist when out. 

I am considering staying at an Airbnb and want to know if it's safe to leave my valuables in the apartment when I'm out.   

Please let me know what your experiences with leaving valuable things in an Airbnb when out.  I appreciate learning from your experiences.

Thank you,

VNK

I never had any issues leaving valuables in an airbnb apartment. I feel safer if its one that has a key lock rather than a digital pin code. You donhewr stories where people check out and then return a few days later using the ssme pin code

I've been travelling Asia for 10 years, never had a problem. I have a Pacsafe portable safe that I use in conjunction with a hotel safe etc.
Keep in mind this only keeps the honest thieves out. Your valuables can be takin from any type of accomadation.

Personally, I stick to physically small laptops I can bung into a backpack and keep with me. There's no way I'd trust hotel rooms and so on where security might well be limited and staff are likely to be low paid.
However, I have yet to see a quack about the state of my head so I may just be paranoid.

At home, I know who has keys to my place.  Myself and one other person.

I don't know who has keys to an Airbnb.

Furthermore, I can leave my place in the suburb of San Diego for months without problems.  There are no bars on the windows

There's a reason the Vietnamese have bars on their windows and iron gates in front of their homes. 

If the locals are taking precautions, then it would be wise to follow their lead.

Vietnamkid wrote:

Hi,

I will be traveling with my laptop, camera, etc.  I've always stayed at hotels in Vietnam and would leave my laptop with the receptionist when out.