Moving to Beijing and scared is an understatement

Hi guys, I am new to expat. Com and have been informed by a friend to join and speak of my fears and spill out haha....

So here goes, I'm a hgv driver in London and have been doing so for four years, until couple months ago I decided I wanted a change in life, I have decided to come to Beijing for a year under a work contract. Now the planned move is in February and it's all great and dandy, until it sunk into me last night before bed, I'm going to a country where I have nobody whatsoever, no friends no family no one to help or guide or anything at all, and I'm just concerned because I don't want to be alone and scared and worried throughout, of course I'm not saying il be completely lost but you guys know what I mean by what i say. Just wanted advice and friendly faces to help me out, as I dont know the language or anything.

Thank u 😊

3 points.

SatNav
Google translate conversation mode with Chinese downloaded
Get wild and enjoy the ride

I can understand why you might be, but relax there is nothing to be scared of.

I'm from London too but I live in Shanghai.

Firstly, you come from London so you're moving from city to city. Beijing has all the things that London has and more  - with the exception of crime. There is no street crime in Chinese cities, at least not compared to home. Shanghai and Beijing are the two safest places I have been to.

Contrary to what UK media reports Chinese people are friendly, gentle, helpful and kind. Children and pensioners are well catered for here, which, for me at least, is a mark of a civilised society.

The two difficulties I had / have were language which is impenetrable and roads - cars and electric bikes. Zebra crossings should be treated very cautiously. I only ever cross the road when a pedestrian green light is on.

Beijing is quite cold in the winter too.