Bartending as a Female Expat

Does anyone have any experience working as an expat bartender in CR? I have 20 years experience behind the bar stateside and am looking to retire from life here and begin a new journey. I have been to CR previously, but I suppose I am wondering what the earning potential is in CR, is it a liveable wage (covering housing, utilities, food, etc), are there issues with getting a job behind a bar being a female (some countries and even cities in the US have the mentality that women don't belong behind the bar)? Thanks in advance!

Working in Costa Rica

I want to work in Costa Rica

Technically you would not be legally hired as a bartender in Costa Rica.
However I imagine that if you could find some larger gringo-owned hotel bars or gringo owned bars they might hire you "under the table". It'd be hard to find something I imagine unless you just got lucky... but maybe possible.

I have seen a few gringa bartenders over the years. But don't ask where, I don't remember.

You should check out the visa requirements. You would not be able to legally work in CR until you have residency, which can take a few years.  If you work on your tourist visa and are discovered (or turned in by a Tica who wants the job you took) you will be deported.  Re-entry after visa violations is rare.

BlueRidgeBoy wrote:

You should check out the visa requirements. You would not be able to legally work in CR until you have residency, which can take a few years.  If you work on your tourist visa and are discovered (or turned in by a Tica who wants the job you took) you will be deported.  Re-entry after visa violations is rare.

I would agree that there is some risk in working illegally here.
However I am curious:
Have you ever personally known or even have a friend of a friend who's been deported for working illegally?