Driving in China

Hello everyone,

I am aware that as a foreigner, you can provide your original driver's licence and (after some bureaucracy) get a Chinese driver's licence. However, in my case, I do not have a driver's licence in my home country. Is it possible to pass the Chinese test and get a Chinese licence (without ever having a licence in your home country)?

Thank you very much!

simple answer..."YES"...

Would you be able to direct me towards any essential information? That would be super helpful. Thanks for your answer!

Yes. 

Since you have never driven in china before, I would respectively urge you to obtain education at a professional driving school. They are everywhere. Not only will they teach you, but will hold your hand (so to speak) and make sure that you get the license.

https://tse1-mm.cn.bing.net/th?id=OIP.gc_-Iuy87aPK4Bd0ZJNG6wHaFi&pid=Api&dpr=1

The written test is easy. You can study for it online, in English no less! I studied it, that way before I obtained my license. I would devote about two hours a day for around two months and stopped studying when I routinely got a score of 96 out of 100.

Ask a Chinese friend to help you find a school and, if need be, help translate for you during the process. Reward them with a meal and some fun (drinking and shaokao) and make a lifetime friend in the process.

The cost will vary, but will be under 3000 RMB, unless you are in a first tier city downtown. Then, it might be higher. Shop around.  Best of luck.

That's handy information, thanks a lot :)

Thank you so much for your helpful information!

So you mentioned a written exam. I imagine there is also a driving test. Is there anything particular that I need to know about that?

@darcybellcamp