ATM withdrawl and Over The Limit ?!!!

Hi,

I've been using my Schwab debit card to withdraw cash for a couple of years now without any issues until last few days … I could only withdraw $6mil vnd and the next attempt failed due to "You have reached your limit for the day on this card" when I only withdrew $6mil vnd for the day. I thought no big deal, wait for the next day and try again.  Next day first attempt same error.  And the next day same error.

I called and talked to Schwab service rep and was informed that my card has a daily limit of $1000 usd, and there was no sign of request attempts from VN side, and denied on the US side.  I tried 4 different banks, and got the same message … Your card has reached the daily limit.

Anyone has experienced the same issue?   Thanks in advance for the input.

Most of the banks now have 2 or 3 million limits (its an atm limit not an account limit. Most of them will then allow you to make another withdrawal (with another fee) its just another exapmle of banks stealing money

Our cards were fine.  Withdrew a total of 69.5M over Fri, Sat, and Sun last week with no problem at all.  Of course we had to make 8 transactions each time, but it has been the same way for years.  We've always used Sacombank ATMs.  Every time we used other banks, some slight hiccup happened so we've learned our lesson.

It seems like you should be able to go into a bank, talk to the staff and withdraw funds that way.

I have a VISA credit card for which the ATM operator fees were previously refunded. But a few years ago the bank stopped doing that.

I think I remember reading that time, that these credit cards were not anymore accepted at some ATMs.

Maybe it's the same with the Schwab card now.

I don't know how Schwab finances the refund.  Maybe they have an agreement with the ATM operators.
And perhaps the ATM operators no longer want to participate.

johnross23 wrote: