Remote Worker Tax

Hello,

I have just moved to Vietnam and am working remotely for a UK company and being paid into a UK bank account. I will be living here permanently.
My husband is a teacher here and I'm here on a dependant TT visa.

When leaving the UK I was told by my accountant that I should be paying tax here in Vietnam as its where I am a resident. I informed the UK revenue and customs of this and am no longer paying tax in the UK.

However once I arrived here, I have tried to speak to a lawyer and accountant about paying tax here- but the lawyer almost laughed when I suggested paying tax here! He said it was a bad idea to let the Vietnam govt know I am working here (although I believe it is allowed on my visa)

I'm now very confused about what to do, I don't want to get in trouble with either government.
If anyone is in a similar situation I would love to hear from them - any advice welcome! I don't even know what type of "expert" I could contact for formal advice..

Thanks,

Jennifer

jjstones19 wrote:

Hello,

I have just moved to Vietnam and am working remotely for a UK company and being paid into a UK bank account. I will be living here permanently.
My husband is a teacher here and I'm here on a dependant TT visa.

When leaving the UK I was told by my accountant that I should be paying tax here in Vietnam as its where I am a resident. I informed the UK revenue and customs of this and am no longer paying tax in the UK.

However once I arrived here, I have tried to speak to a lawyer and accountant about paying tax here- but the lawyer almost laughed when I suggested paying tax here! He said it was a bad idea to let the Vietnam govt know I am working here (although I believe it is allowed on my visa)

I'm now very confused about what to do, I don't want to get in trouble with either government.