Return Ticket is needed?

Hello, I am going to Punta Cana in 2 weeks, and I don't know how long I stay, so it would be twice as cheap for me to buy the return ticket once in Punta Cana than to buy a "flex" ticket (the one I could change the return date) now.

I just don't know: do they ask for return ticket on the border control? Is it usual?

I have been traveling to DR for 4 years now and never have I been asked to show a return ticket. Usually I travel with one way only.

I'm with Stan.  I have never used a return ticket and have never been questioned.  Went to Canada twice last year and returned in January this year so pretty recent...

Thank you very much StanR and DominicanadaMike. Where are you guys from?

Generally the border control don't ask nothing then? They just check the passport and bye?

When I pass through border control in Europe (I am Brazilian), generally they don't ask me anything (which for me is strange with all fuzz the media make about immigrants), I hope in Republica Dominicana is the same :D

I am from Canada.  I am sure you will be fine.  Just check the return flight cost before deciding one way or return.  I usually go with the cheaper version.

You are more likely to have your airline from Europe ask to see your return ticket. Several European airlines regularly ask for return tickets.

I much doubt if you will have a problem with the immigration officer at arrival in PUJ, and as posted, it would be unusual to be asked for proof of onward travel. I will caution that just before the end of last year, there was a news story in all the local press about a dozen Venezuelans being denied entry and sent home for not having a return ticket at Santo Domingo Las Americas airport. South Americans and some other nationalities do get more scrutiny here than North Americans or Europeans.