Tempted with Cyprus

Hi to all,

Hoping someone may be able to help me out here.

I have been considering moving from Asia to Spain or Cyprus (to be closer to family & friends in the UK) and was initially thinking of doing this late 2011 (poss 2012).

However as I work as a Financial Adviser I am concerned with the economy in Europe at the moment. All the reports I am reading out here are pretty negative about Europe in general, particularly Spain and I am hoping someone who actually lives and works there could shed some light on what its like there.

Also anyone living and working In Cyprus your thoughts would be really appreciated.

Because of my job I worry that setting up at the moment might be detrimental to my business, are people actually confident about the markets there ? Are new expats still coming into Spain /Cyprus, Are the big companies still hiring there ?

In terms of getting a job there I already have several open ended offers, however as traditionally in our profession we depend on commissions from writing new business I don't want to turn up there and find the "arse has fallen out of it" and then ending up living off savings for the next 2 years.

My other thought is to hold tight here in Asia for a while longer and see what emerges in Europe for the next 12 months or so.

Potentially looking to move to Valencia, Madrid or Barcelona area of Spain or any area in Cyprus, anybody have an idea of the cost of living in those areas, ie rent, schools, cars ?

What's the expat community like in Cyprus, large or small ? 

Any thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi europebound,

Welcome to Expat-blog! :)

I hope you get replies to your queries very soon.

I wish you good luck
Christine

Well, so far an excellent response from fellow expats !
Hopefully someone will take pity quite soon and respond ???????