Employment for a Writer in Vietnam?

Dear Friends,

I am relatively new to expat.com, so before my question I will introduce myself. I am an American who grew up as a military brat overseas (Italy, Spain) and lived previously as an expat in Kathmandu Nepal for eight months. I attend St. John's College (small but rigorous liberal arts college) but have decided to leave, due to my preparedness and vision. I feel that as great as this degree is, it does not contribute to my ultimate intention. My time can be better spent elsewhere.

Vietnam and HCMC interest me especially due to the large and vibrant expat community and entrepreneurial spirit. I am seeking somewhere that has a relatively low cost of living so I can dedicate my time to writing and becoming a digital nomad. Currently getting a blog up and running, and planning to arrive in August.

My main question is this: are there employment opportunities for native English speakers other than teaching? As much as I enjoy (and would be willing to teach again) I would like to find something closer to my interests. What are the prospects of working as a writer (Journalist, freelance, technical— any kind of writing)? How do I find such opportunities?

My idea is to arrive and find work by word of mouth, and interview in person to show my commitment. As much as not having a degree might be a setback I see no problem with it—I am mainly an autodidact , have professional experience, and ways of proving my competence at a given job. I am more worried whether such opportunities even exist for writing as a native English speaker.