Moving to Sweden from the UK

Hello, everyone,

My partner and I are considering moving to Sweden in the next couple of years from the UK. Having previously myself lived in Norway for some time, I'm aware of the expensive lifestyle etc. However, I am interested in hearing other peoples experience in moving to the country!

Currently, in the UK I'm a self-employed videographer and my partner is an architect. We've both done our studies, so would be looking for work in Sweden.

Few questions I have are:

Did you move before or after finding work?
How long did it take you to find work?
Would you recommend living in the cities or further out?
Finally, was it easy to make friends?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Katie

Hi Katie,

I moved to Sweden with a work permit and therefore had a job waiting for me (one of the conditions of a work permit)
In terms of where to live, it depends what you like, I'm a city girl but not sure if you prefer cities or being further out?
I found it fairly easy to make friends with other expats, but I had to be a bit more patient when it came to making friends with Swedes.

Cheers,
Nicola

Watchoutkt wrote:

Hello, everyone,

My partner and I are considering moving to Sweden in the next couple of years from the UK. Having previously myself lived in Norway for some time, I'm aware of the expensive lifestyle etc. However, I am interested in hearing other peoples experience in moving to the country!

Currently, in the UK I'm a self-employed videographer and my partner is an architect. We've both done our studies, so would be looking for work in Sweden.

Few questions I have are:

Did you move before or after finding work?
How long did it take you to find work?
Would you recommend living in the cities or further out?
Finally, was it easy to make friends?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Katie