Getting a personnummer!!

Hi,

I am new to this blog:) After months of thinking about moving to Sweden from London to live with my boyfriend I took the plunge this week and gave in my notice. I am planning to move to Akarp (near Malmo) by the end of October!

I know the personnummer is a big topic and I keep on finding different information on how to obtain it so I just wanted a fresh perspective on it and have several questions...

1. I am a EU member so as I understand it I am permitted 6 months to live in  Sweden whilst I look for a job? Some people say it is only 3

2. Once I have an offer of employment I can apply for my personnummer. I need my EU health card, my address of residence (which will be my boyfriends house), my ID (passport) and proof that I can support myself with a regular income.

What documents do I need to proof I can support myself from month to month? Would a bank statement showing an adequate amount of money in my English bank account for say a year be enough?

Do I need any more information/documentation with regards to my residence, i.e. a residents permit?

How long does it take to obtain the personnummer once the correct documentation is handed in?

Any help and advice on the above would be much appreciated!!

Many thanks,
Natasha

Hi Natasha

I can only tell you that once you submit the required documents in tax office it takes maximum of 2 weeks to sent your personal number by post on your address.

Wish you good luck and welcome to Sweden.

Best regards
Sajid

Hi Sajid,

Thank you for your message - thats good to know:)

Ive read a few other peoples expereinces and they seem to have had theirs fairly quickly once they submit their documents...Hopefully I will have a similar situation:)

Hi Natasha,