Naturalisation and citizenship in Angola

Hello everyone,

What are the requirements for acquiring citizenship in Angola? For example, length of residence, language requirements, employment etc..

What formalities are involved in the process?

What is the policy on dual-citizenship in Angola? Do you have to give up your former nationality?

What are the advantages and benefits of acquiring Angolan citizenship, in your opinion?

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Bhavna

Hi all
I am Nure and I am from Bangladesh. Before coming Angola I was working in Nestle Bangladesh around 4 years. I am in Angola last 15 years and end of this year I am going to leave Angola forever. I am Accounts, finance and audit head of a multination company working last 12 years and HR department was also under me around 10 years. I am a resident card holder and based on my last 10 years' HR experience here is the procedure we followed to get Resident card for our expat employees. It may little differ from others system and procedure but main frame should be same. Please go through it and if you have any question you may ask me.

Eligibility to get Resident card:

- Must be having minimum 5 Angolan work visa in your passport
- You have a clean cheat from local police department
- You are in good health which must be certified by local physician

Required Documents:

01- Prescribed form to fill up   ()
02- Work contract in Portuguese  ()
03- Alvara Commercial  ()
04- Cartao De Contribuinte  ()
05- Diario Da Republica  ()
06- Documento De Arrecadacao De Receitas (DAR)  ()
07- Declaration (Portuguese )  (Candidate is going to abide by Angolan rules and not going to do any crime)
08- Highest Academic Certificate - English  (Must be authenticated by Ministry of Foreign Affairs of respective country)
09- Highest Academic Certificate - Portuguese  (Needed to be Authenticated from Angolan Embassy of respective country)