Moving to America with a criminal record

Hi all,

Would really appreciate any advice or information any one can offer me. I have a criminal record following an argument with my ex partner 10 years ago. During the argument I crashed my car, I was charged with common assault and driving without due care and attention and given points and a fine.

I have recently been granted a B2 visa for the second time, this occasion they have given me a 10 year visa as opposed to the 2 year visa I was granted the first time I travelled to the US.

I have just returned from a week in New York and I really want to move out to LA or somewhere on the West Coast. The process to obtain my visa was complicated enough and I have heard that is near enough impossible to get residency in the US with a criminal record.

I have been teaching now for 6 years and know that Science is a sought after field, I am unsure at this stage if teaching is something I wish to pursue or whether I would like a career change.

Any help would be greatly appreciated on what to do, who to contact, research to carry out.

Thank you!!

I cant speak to your issue with confidence but I would suppose you start at the US embassy.

I think you will find this link useful, which discusses crimes which can make you inadmissible or ineligible to become a Lawful Permanent Resident

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/ … sible.html

Here is a summary of the crimes or related activities that the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services lists as inadmissible. Note that not all of them require an actual conviction in court to make the applicant inadmissible. Do not rely on this list alone in assessing your immigration situation; get help from an experienced immigration attorney.