Starting a New Life in Italy Teaching English as a Foreign Language

Hello, my name is Diane and I am fifty five years old, about to retire from a long career in college administration. I am enrolled in the International TEFL Academy located in Florence, starting October 17th and am so excited.  I have been a college instructor as well as the Dean of Enrollment during the past 20 years.  I hold both a Bachelors and Masters degree, and in fact did my research for my Master's thesis in Florence during two trips in 2005 and 2006 respectively.  I fell in love with the country then and have returned many times since.

My long-time dream was to retire relatively young and move to Italy to teach English. I will be able to support myself with my retirement income relatively well but want to work so I can make a little extra money to travel and also working would integrate me into the local community as well. I am a little concerned that my age will be a factor in the hiring process but am willing to pursue any opportunities that may be available to me. My children are grown, married and independent so I am ready to do this!

I have located a place to live during my training and will return to the US for the Thanksgiving and Christmas holiday but hope to return in early January to start a teaching job.

Any help, advice or words of encouragement - especially about jobs would be greatly appreciated!

Hi, and welcome to the forum.
Apart from your very nice first post here, you're clearly going to be an asset to whichever school is lucky enough to hire you.
If I may be so bold, I suggest trying for a position in a primary school as the young kids learn quickly and the emotional reward of being part of that is likely to be very pleasing for you.
Just an idea.

Oh - thank you so much!! I like your suggestion and I think I would be very good with the younger children - I have four grandchildren and find teaching them so rewarding!

Hi.