Moving to Palmerston North in September 2016. Need advice.

Good day everyone.

We're a family of 3 (Self, wife and a 5 year old kid). Moving to Palmerston North in September 2016. We have been in Oman for the last 10 years (Pakistani by nationality)  and first time relocating to a country far from Asia.

My wife is pursuing the Phd from Massey University.  I have received my work visa and my son's being issued with a student visa. Following are the queries.

1-   Minimum Cost of Living for a family like mine.

2-   What is the job condition there. I am an Engineer, specialization in Project Management, contracting, planning and non technical Project controls. Is it possible to acquire a suitable job there.

3-   Mode of transportation. We're thinking of using public transportation (Or bicycles  as initiators).

4-   Most important - Recommendations on a good school for my child

5-  How is the social environment (in general). I have seen extremely nice reviews on the same throughout the different communities. Would appreciate if someone shed a light on it.

6-    Anything else that is missed above.

I would highly appreciate if someone from Palmerston North and near around could advise accordingly.

Regards,

Schaz..

For cost of living try www.numbeo.com
Jobs check out www.seek.co.nz or try a Google search.

Stumpy !

I expected this reply from u  :P . However i insist some realistic and practical person who actually resides there for the explanation

I am New Zealand born and bred and at present I am living in New Zealand.

Alryt !
Then that makes sense  for reference.

Stumpy / Other Members,