Cost of living questions from a recent graduate on her way to Accra

Hi everyone

I am a recent Canadian graduate come to Accra in January for six months. I am going to be working for the African University College of Communication.
I am on a very limited budget.
Does anyone have any information on the neighbourhood and how much I should expect to pay for housing? I am just looking for a one bedroom flat. Is there student housing nearby that I might be able to use?
Also, what does rent usually cover in Accra? should I expect to pay electricity, internet etc. separately?
Any information on public transit in the area would be great as well.

Thanks so much

Hi there!

I am also moving soon to Accra and like to know about accomodation. Is it possible to share accomodation with some expats to cut initial costs.

Please reply,

Thanks

Banano wrote:

Hi everyone

I am a recent Canadian graduate come to Accra in January for six months. I am going to be working for the African University College of Communication.
I am on a very limited budget.
Does anyone have any information on the neighbourhood and how much I should expect to pay for housing? I am just looking for a one bedroom flat. Is there student housing nearby that I might be able to use?
Also, what does rent usually cover in Accra? should I expect to pay electricity, internet etc. separately?
Any information on public transit in the area would be great as well.

Thanks so much

I want to help u ,but everything that u say,our company do it for me .

depending on what your needs or standards are you can expect a place to stay between 25$ and 4000$. In your case, I'd rather go for those so called hall and chambers. they cost about 150-200 cedis (about 75 to 100 euros). Electricity is usually extra. if you dont have your own meter definitely try to pay a certain amount every mount, otherwise they come to you and say u gave to play say 100 cedis but in fact you are paying for 3 houses without knowing.