Need i apply for work permit even if i get married to south african?

When I marry my long time South African girl friend later this year will I still need to apply to the South African Embassy in the UK for a work permit

I am a South African, my wife a "foreigner", we are back & living in SA for the past 6,5 years. We are for the last  8 months in the process with her "permanent residence" application.

I am not an expert on all the rules & regulations but believe me, we spent many hours trying to find out the best/correct ways obtaining a work permit for my wife.

In summary, we were told the following: -

a) It is "better" to apply for a work permit  (at the SA Embassy) in your country before moving to SA. (if you have special skills (of which there are a shortage in SA), obtaining a work permit should be much easier). I recommend you make an appointment at the SA Embassy UK to get more clarity.
b) Once married, your wife could register a small " home based" business in her name and you "work for her". I am not sure if this is 100% legal but many foreigners do this.

Although quite expensive, it may be worth it to contact a reputable immigration company in SA for assistance.

Hi steve, I work in this field.

To answer your question, yes you need to apply for a so-called section 11(6) visa with endorsement to work.
on this type of visa you can get an endorsement to work, study or conduct own business.

Keep in mind in case you change employers you need to have your visa changed as well.

Hi Stevezoe,

In a nutshell, yes. The 11 (6) visa allows you rights only to live with your partner/spouse legally in South Africa. Working rights arent automatically awarded and must be separately applied for (an endorsement on your life partner/spousal visa) if/when you havr a work offer from an employer.