Moving to Muscat - Questions

Hello everyone,

My name is Laura and I am currently living in Birmingham, Alabama in the US. I work in the Healthcare industry and am considering accepting an offer to work in the hospital in Muscat. I am a single, 45 year old lady and have two teenage daughters. My daughters will remain in the US if I accept the position.

I have so many questions. What is the name of the area most Expats chose to live? Will I be able to find a furnished 1 or 2 bedroom apartment or will I be required to settle for an unfurnished place? What can I expect my monthly living expenses to be? Should I accept a monthly housing allowance or request that my employer pay these expenses?  Is it an easy process to transition to Muscat (banking, buying a vehicle, driving, etc.)? How hard is it to communicated/video chat with family back in the states since Facetime and Skype are not allowed?

I would appreciate anyone's assistance in answering my questions and giving any information which they believe to be helpful.

Thank you and have a great day!

Laura

Hi miss Laura
You are more than welcome to come to Oman.

Firstly, as you are a US citizen, your transactions and applications in governments and private sectors will be more that easy according to the recommendations of His Majesty Sultan Qaboos. Some times its easier than Omani.

You can find ready furnitured flat in center of muscat "Alqurum or Al khewair" with rate of 200 to 300 $ monthly.

For video chat you can use Imo or Hangout. Also you can use proxy for access Skype and all others.

Best wishes,

Pharmacist, Mahmood

I am an American and lived in Oman for all of 2014.
Oman is a great place to live , we have mountains, seashore and desert  more scenery than most of the Middle East.
Easy country to live in people are very helpful and friendly and very safe .
Climate is nice - we even have a "winter season"
I would not hesitate to move here .