Iowa to Belize?!

Hi! I'm a freshman in college in Iowa and frankly, I'm bored. A friend and I have been looking at places to move (for short term, probably less than a year) that would be inexpensive as we are both just college kids. We just got back from a vacation to California and can't seem to let go of that gorgeous weather! We really just need somewhere to sleep for several months, nothing fancy or extravagant. We've noticed that Belize seems to have much lower costs of living than the US does and that's very appealing to us. My question for you guys is where should a couple of cheap college kids be looking to live? We would like to spend less than $400 (USD) total for rent per month, if possible. One bedroom or two. Where should we be looking for housing? Where are the least expensive places? Also, is there really any way to make money while living in Belize as an "expat"? I've heard that you really can only start up your own business. As an 18 year old, I don't have much experience with starting businesses or really any good ideas for one.

I'm also just looking for any tips or advice anyone that either lives in Belize or has been there or even just knows anything about the location would have for us. We're just looking for our next adventure and a break from this American lifestyle and we're hoping Belize might be it!

Hi libbby!

Welcome to Expat.com :)

Armand
Expat.com Team

Stay in College, get your degree, then come to Belize

4evrHawk wrote:

Stay in College, get your degree, then come to Belize