Networking with other expats

Anyone care to network with me? I live in Praia, Santiago. I've been to all the other islands. I know lots of people including government ministers and agency heads. I know where to get anything and everything - very often, things you need are not advertised or locals do not know where to get them (if they've never had a need for such items).

Let me know if you have any questions or need anything.

hello i am coming to cape varde i we sure need job.i have 5 years sales experience in sale and marketing,i have attend international conference in demarke 2009,working in largest breweries in Africa,.

Hi Akinsome,

It amazes me how many people want to leave large African countries with millions of employed to come to one of the tiniest countries in Africa to look for work. The total population here is 1/2 million. Half of those are children. Unemployment is over 30%. So you can imagine, there are not too many jobs here.

Notwithstanding, let me directly address your question. There aren't many "sales" jobs here because culturally, the "hard sell" approach is a no-no. I don't think I have ever once met a formally trained "salesperson" here in Cabo Verde. There are thousands of street peddlers and market vendors, but they have zero selling skills. Of course, we all know that we are all individually always selling all the time. So your experience would certainly be helpful to you in effectively performing a job, but not in getting one. Marketing is a definite career track here. However, only 3% of all the businesses here in Cabo Verde are large enough to be able to have a marketing department. So it's unlikely you'd find an opening in that area (excess supply versus low demand). But again, your experience could be helpful in performing a job.