Yoga teacher from USA and her family on the way!

We are from So. CAlifornia now in Hawaii moving to KL.
My husband is in advertising and I am a yoga teacher/ft mom.

Any out there who could tell me their experience with private schools for 1st grader?
What about real Yoga classes?
Any spiritual/hippy/chic expats out there?
How is it making friends?
And is it safe??? I'm very worried! (I know not very yogic of me, but I've even heard your child can be kidnapped for randsome!

its actually safe here, not as dangerous as you think , but of course you need to educate your children not to simply follow strangers away or just ignore some strangers if they are trying to lure them away to some where , and always stay in the school compound and wait for the parents :)

Cheers!

The murder rate is about one-fourth of what it is in the USA.

Mainly in KL it's petty crime, reaching up into muggings. Bag snatchings are common, sometimes aggressive. Anyone who's lived in an American city will feel fine here.

OOps I just made a mistake and deleted the following post :

Welcome to Malaysia!

1. there are many private international schools here, for opinions of other parents have a look here:
international schools KL

2. there are lots of yoga classes in KL, for example:
yoga

3. surprisingly there are more spiritual groups in KL and sourrounding as I expected. Mostly run by chinese and indian Malaysians, sure you will find some other expats there:
eagles nest
lightworks
light on earth

4. if you are looking for other expats:
expat mingle

5. Malaysia is a safe and peacefull country: