Wondering about emigrating to Canada.

Hi My name is Caroline,

I am a nurse and my husband is an electrician. We have two children and one on the way. We are living in Dublin in Ireland and are really considering leaving this country. We both have jobs at present but due to the economic downturn my husbands job is not save. We are constantly living in fear he will be let go.

Due to high taxes decrease in wages we are finding it more difficult to sustain a good quality of life for our children. We have not bought a property in Ireland so luckily we are not in negative equity. we rent a small house with tiny garden
Have very little money from our wages to enjoy life after bills etc are paid. At this stage I am thinking there is more to life. I want the best life for my children good schools, big garden to play in and want to be able to enjoy our children.

I am very fearful to move also. I have heard it can be difficult to settle and hard to meet people. I am reluctant to take my children out of school not knowing how the education system is. I also heard you have to work long hours and you only get approx 2 weeks holidays a year I am afraid I could get isolated if my husband was away for long hours etc.The cost of living is another concern.

All info would be greatly received I really want to go in to this move with my eyes open.

Thanks again

Hi Caroline,

Welcome to Expat.com Canada.

I am an RN and moved to Canada nearly 4 years ago. I love it here but things have not always been easy.