About Uganda

Uganda (East Africa) has borders with Kenya, South Sudan, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, and Tanzania. Once famously called “The Pearl of Africa” by Winston Churchill, the country is a sample platter of breathtaking landscapes, an abundance of wildlife and, most importantly, safety.

Uganda covers 236,040 square kilometres, has over 41 million people, and is inhabited by various ethnic groups. English and Swahili are Uganda’s two official languages, but numerous African languages are spoken across the country. The country’s capital is the busy city of Kampala, while other big cities are Arua, Entebbe, and Gulu. Fort Portal is known for its large tea plantations, Jinja is situated at the source of the river Nile, and Mbarara is home to several national parks.

Uganda benefits from having a variety of natural resources such as fertile soils paired with substantial rainfall, deposits of gold, copper, and oil. Agriculture continues to be the most important sector where most of the population is employed. Coffee is the country’s main commodity and the source of export revenue.

Uganda is a relatively small country, but it’s home to some of the most memorable African attractions. Here, you can see the continent’s tallest mountain range — Rwenzori Mountains — and encounter some of the world’s most endangered animals (mountain gorillas, chimpanzees, and leopards). The country is also home to Lake Victoria (part of the African Great Lakes), Kibale National Park, and Murchison Falls National Park. Uganda is a land made for hiking, trekking, and wildlife watching.

Residents of most countries can obtain a visa on arrival in Uganda or apply for an e-visa online. Citizens of some countries can travel to Uganda and stay there visa-free for up to three months. Those who do not come from visa-exempt regions will need to apply for a visa in advance at one of the country’s diplomatic missions.