Interested in Traveling to Hanoi in 2021

Hey Everyone!

My name is Aaron and I'm a 29-year-old social media manager from Los Angeles. I met my now Vietnamese girlfriend during my trip there in Jan/Feb 2020. We have been dating since February but the long distance is tough for us.

Dating during a pandemic and long distance puts a strain on the relationship. I want to travel to Vietnam for 2-3 months starting in January. But I'm not sure if Vietnam will open international travel to US residents. Trust me, I know US is looking awful right now during this pandemic.

Does anyone have any updates on this? Or do I need a Vietnam company to sponsor my trip to Hanoi? Any answers would be helpful.

Thanks, Aaron

No one can tell what will happen in January, but a safe bet would be that unless the situation turns around very quickly in the US, the odds are high that Vietnam will allow US travellers to enter the country in 5 weeks, not when the door is still closed to many risk-free or low-risk countries.

As far as having a company to sponsor you, this subject was brought up and discussed ad nauseam in several threads recently.  You can search for the details, or I can give you a short recap:  fuhgeddaboudit.

As i stated on another thread, if you check

https://www.skyscanner.net/travel-restrictions

and enter the country that you are flying from, you will see a summary of restrictions for entering each country, which of course, you would need to confirm.

From the US:
- 15 countries with Low restrictions
"You can travel here and likely won't need to quarantine when you arrive or return."
- 101 countries with Moderate restrictions
"Travel here is possible if you meet certain entry regulations which can include taking a COVID-19 test. You may also be required to quarantine upon arrival and/or return."

From Vietnam:
116 countries with Moderate restrictions