English speaking expats

Where is the best place to live in Thailand where there's English speaking people.  I would prefer not be be in tourist area's.  AM now living in Nonthaburi. Any Americans living in my area that want friendships.? I came here to retire with my Thai wife from California in 2013 she has a big family but none of them want to speak  English.  And they are so busy working or taking care of grand children that no one has time for us. Thanks for your feedback.   Patrick

Hi Patrick,

Your topic has been moved to the Thailand forum.

Thanks and Regards,

Priscilla
Expat.com Team  :cheers:

I live in Saraburi, my family of 12 also really speak no english, so I am working on learning Thai, I have 3 ipad apps which helps with basic stuff, hey it is their country , their culture, their language , I manage to get by but may never be fluent, so no chats about politics of anything fun, I am an engineer and they don't speak preventative maintenance and repair so , in at least 2 languages we don't talk , I do my independent thing and they tolerate me like I tolerate them, good luck with finding some one to chat with, if you ever get to Saraburi, give me a heads up ... I will buy you a Chang and we can commiserate
it isn't going to change , retirees are ignored world over , look at back home, the kids never visit they are busy doing their own thing ... find a hobby ... it is all we got going for ourselves .

You might consider Hua Hin south of BKK, nice developing area , not yet too expensive
and plenty of amenities ... was there for a weekend vaca and it was easy to manage and saw plenty of