Relocating to Malta

Hi everyone. Please be kind as I am new to this sort of thing and not very good at it.                                    I am thinking of moving to Malta and need a little advice if possible.  I am 62 and do not work at the moment and have a fixed income of around £1600 a month. I would be looking for somewhere to rent. Would it be possible for me to afford to live on the island on that sort of income. I may in time try to source a job in the tourist industry if that is feasible and necessary. I know you probably been asked this sort of thing before but any help you can give would be brilliant. It may just be a pipe dream but hey. Why Malta? My Dad served there during the war in submarines and loved the island and it's people so I have a sort of connection with it's history. Thank you.

Assuming you have visited recently and still feel a desire (its essential to visit), then with that income you should be fine in Gozo.

badgerk9 wrote:

Hi everyone. Please be kind as I am new to this sort of thing and not very good at it.                                    I am thinking of moving to Malta and need a little advice if possible.  I am 62 and do not work at the moment and have a fixed income of around £1600 a month. I would be looking for somewhere to rent. Would it be possible for me to afford to live on the island on that sort of income. I may in time try to source a job in the tourist industry if that is feasible and necessary. I know you probably been asked this sort of thing before but any help you can give would be brilliant. It may just be a pipe dream but hey. Why Malta? My Dad served there during the war in submarines and loved the island and it's people so I have a sort of connection with it's history. Thank you.

Welcome to the Forum, if you are serious about moving here I would recommend a holiday here, as long as it is safe to do virus wise, also before the end of this year because of Brexit.