Being an employee in the UK while working remotely from Germany

Hi everyone,

My name is Aaron and I am a UK national currently working in the UK for my UK employer with plans to move to Koblenz in Germany permanently before Brexit.

I am reaching out to the expat community with the hope that someone will be able to help me with the intricacies of the double taxation agreement and social entitlements. 

I currently work in IT/Development which enables me to work remotely from anywhere. I have been given permission from my employer to work remotely permanently. The reason I am moving is that my girlfriend is a German national and we have decided that we would now like to live together in Germany.

Unfortunately, this is not as straight forward as I would have hoped. I was hoping that I could get some advice on the best way to achieve this would be?

I have been doing lots of reading around the "UK-Germany Double Taxation Convention". However, it doesn't really explain how this would work in my situation. I am also concerned about how the social tax is paid for services I require locally like Healthcare and unemployment insurance etc...

Ideally, I would like to avoid becoming a freelancer.

I don't know the UK-German tax treaty (and whether it will survive Brexit), but in general you must tax your income where you live and work. That means you'd most likely be taxable in Germany with your world income. But the details can be tricky, so it pays to get professional advice before you move.
German income tax is 18 - 42% on a progressive scale.