Expat taxes (USA)

First of all, I hope you are all enjoying the holidays and I wish you a good slide into the New Year!

I know this topic has been addressed many times, and I have googled, read postings here, etc. I get it that I have to report my income to the IRS even though I am a permanent resident of Germany. What I'm wondering is if any of you know WHY? What blinking business is it of theirs what I make when not one penny is in any way connected to the US? I get a small salary from a German company and I am self employed as a Dozentin (teacher) at the local VHS and a private language school. I will not be returning to the US to live and only visit briefly when I must. I realize the amount I make falls under the "foreign earned income exclusion", so I probably shouldn't get my knickers in a knot about it. Still, I would like to know _why_. Any clue?

I read today that the US is one of only a handful of countries (one source said only 2 countries, the other being Eritrea) in the world who tax their citizens regardless of where they live.

Bhejl wrote:

I get it that I have to report my income to the IRS even though I am a permanent resident of Germany. What I'm wondering is if any of you know WHY?

Because you are citizen of the USA and thus the USA authorities have certain jurisdiction over you - and they made the (valid) law that you have to report your income. That is enough justification for WHY from a legal standpoint.
But to go one (rather obvious) step further: They want to earn tax dollars from their subjects living and earning abroad. That's WHY they made this law.
The (again obvious) way around this is to renounce your USA citizenship (IF you have another one). From what I heard, it is easy to do so.