Changing from UK Staff (part-time) to Germany Contractor (full-time)

Hi there,

I am a UK national who has been working for a UK company for 6+ years. I changed from full-time to part-time in September 2022.

I will be moving to Germany in Q1 2024 to accompany my wife while she studies in Germany. Despite being a non-EU national (hurray Brexit...) I can get a Family Reunion visa to Germany which enables me to work there. Our living costs will be much higher than the UK which requires me switch to working full-time. My company is on-board with me working from Germany, however is concerned about how tax is paid. I have suggested to them that I can set up a limited company in Germany (GmbH) which they can hire, whilst I work as a contractor for my GmbH.

• Will I be liable for UK tax/IR35? I believe not as I will be in living Germany, paying German taxes and will no longer have anything to do with the HMRC.
  • Taking my salary into account, my company will have to be VAT-registered in Germany. How does the VAT (return) work when selling a service to a UK customer (my current employee)?

Thanks in advance

I am afraid you are expecting too much from this forum and its volunteers:

• We (at least here on the Germany forum) are not knowledgeable about UK taxes. So you should place your first question on the UK forum or, even better, ask a tax consultant in your country.
  • How your German company would be treated for VAT and other taxes is also unlikely to be answered here - few Expats ever come across this topic and giving such advice is anyway reserved (by law) for registered tax consultants.

That said, here is mylimited knowledge (without guarantee):

• Living and working in Germany, you will definitely be income-taxed here (on your world income). A UK-Germany tax treaty might avoid double taxation in UK - check that!