Marrying an indonesian in Bali is now not legal is this true?

Hi i am from london and have been planning to marry my indonesian girlfriend who is from Jakarta this year and we wanted too marry like a lot of people in Bali.

But we have been told a new law has come into effect from Nov 2017 that Indonesian people can only get married legally now in Bali if they are actually Balinese or reside in Bali .
Can anyone tell me if this is true as a couple of wedding agencies told me yes and others say they know nothing about it and are happy to arrangr a legal Christian wedding .....confused.com!

Regards

Roy

I have no experience of this but plenty of experience with paper pushers here. They're very much like paper pushers in any country but the rules they follow tend to be flexible, often what they decide is right rather than what is actually correct.

I hope someone can answer your question but I can offer some tips.
Bring your birth certificate and make sure it's legalised.
Make sure you have a certificate of no impediment from your local registry office, again legalised.

Legalise here
https://www.get-document-legalised.serv … ct-service

I'm assuming the lady is a Christian. If so, no worries.
If that lady is of any other religion there could be issues as you MUST be of the same religion to marry legally here.
Whatever is on her KTP is the religion she is officially and legally as far as the marriage is concerned.

Hi Fred and thanks for the reply.
Yes my fiancee is Christian/protestant like me so no issues there.
And yes i have all my paperwork ready but its really the issue is that according to two wedding planners based in Bali that the marriage wont be legal now because my fiancce is not from or lives in bali even though she is indonesian!
One company only found out today from there legal team that this is the case and apologised for not knowing this when i first enquired about us marrying there..