Transporting furniture across the border

My name is Marylou. We are buying a condo in club Santiago, Manzanillo, Mexico. I have been visiting there for 12 years already. My question is transporting furniture across the border and any complications that could arise. Thanks for any help.

Marylulu wrote:

My name is Marylou. We are buying a condo in club Santiago, Manzanillo, Mexico. I have been visiting there for 12 years already. My question is transporting furniture across the border and any complications that could arise. Thanks for any help.

Most of us who live here decided not to do that, because it is expensive, and in many cases the items did not work as well as in the U.S.
Wood for example does not hold up well. Most of the original wood items in mexico are very dense and heavy for a reason. Near the water and with humidity metals quickly succumb to rust. Oiling the doors and locks is a 4 times a year chore if you want your locks to work.

Then there is the , if you haven't used it in months do you really need it test.

Check out moving prices for shippers under the handy tools tab at the top of the page. Appliances and furniture is not hard to get here, and could be cheaper than the cost of shipping plus free heavy lifting and delivery..

As for the borders, it depends, they might take a long time inspecting and they may not. I only brought the essentials and bought a bed and since then linens here, other things were delivered for free by Amazon.

travellight wrote:
Marylulu wrote:

Most of us who live here decided not to do that, because it is expensive, and in many cases the items did not work as well as in the U.S.
Wood for example does not hold up well. Most of the original wood items in mexico are very dense and heavy for a reason. Near the water and with humidity metals quickly succumb to rust. Oiling the doors and locks is a 4 times a year chore if you want your locks to work.