Moving to Czech Republic for three months

I'm a 22 year old German business student. I'm studying part-time, always spending three months in my enterprise and three at university. My studies are three-national (France/Germany/Swiss)and I spent my last semester in Finland, so I'm used to living abroad. In summer I will probably go to Jirny, Czech Republic to work there for my company. As I don't know anything about this country yet, I registered to try to get in contact with some people living there or having lived there.

I'm happy about any kind of adice. I also have a few questions: how to find an apartment there? How are public transportation systems? Are people there english-speaking? How to find sports clubs?

Hi and welcome on Expat.com Kewitsch :)

I hope you will get some useful advices from other members on the forum soon ;)

Regards
Armand

Hi Kewitsch

I dont know Jirny but here are some informations for Prague :

- A lot of flats and flat sharing are available on the website "expat.cz"

- Even if a big part of the people in town center speak english, I had some bad experience with absolutely non-english speaking people (even in a very big shopping center!). Knowing a few words and sentences of Czech can be a great help.

- Public transports in Prague are great, right at time and pretty cheap.

- You can find sport clubs in almost every small town or district, but the main sports are football and ice hockey. You can also do all mountain-related sports including rafting and canoing in the North of the Bohemia.

Good luck for your trip!

Hey Carlito,

thanks a lot for the advices!
Jirny is supposed to be 20 - 30km from Prague.
With sports I'm kinda flexible as long as
newcomers are welcome :D

try expats.cz for places to stay and also myczechrepublic.com to find out more about CR.

Its a great place to live even for a short time and Im sure you will find everyone as friendly as I have, Plus great beer :)