Mistakes expats make in Costa Rica

Hello everyone,

Did you make any mistakes when you first moved to Costa Rica? What were they?

How did you address your mistakes? Did you learn anything from them?

With hindsight, what would you do differently?

Are there any tips you could give future expats in Costa Rica to help them avoid these kinds of mistakes?

We look forward to hearing from you!

Priscilla

"Did you make any mistakes when you first moved to Costa Rica? What were they?"

Ahhh, if I only knew then what I know now….

I would say my biggest mistake was not understanding that you cannot trust what people say - more here than what I was used to.  Costa Ricans don't like to disappoint.  They want to tell you what they think you want to hear.

You have to learn to decipher what it is that they actually mean.  “Yes, I am a professional welder.”  Which translates to, “Yes, my grandpa taught me to weld when I was 12 and I welded two pipes together once.  So I'm sure I can build a house for you.” Or - “Yes, I have years of experience when it comes to installing a concrete sidewalk.”  But forgets to mention that he doesn't own a level and wouldn't know what to do with it if he did.  These are actual occurrences for me.  (No, I did not let the guy weld the framing on my house.   :joking: )

The other one was the architect who took my deposit and said that he would get me the receipt “tomorrow” when he filed the drawings.  Seemed very professional, had a nice office, etc.  Hired a lawyer to get the money back.  Even lawyers and police are timid about confrontation.

Unfortunately, I have had to learn not to trust what people say.  Even when it is said with good intentions.  This is simply a cultural thing.  What they often times see as being nice and not wanting to disappoint, due to our culture, we would find rude.

"With hindsight, what would you do differently?"