Being a chef in Bogota

Hi.
I'm a chef of 4 years experience currently working and improving my skills and craft. I'm trying to look for work as a chef in Bogota trying to make around 1.5 million pesos to live comfortably by my standards. I don't know what the high end culinary scene is like in Bogota but any knowledge of that would be appreciated. But my main question is. What kind of visa do i need to work as a chef and how well should i be able to speak Spanish, ie. should i keep trying to learn Spanish broadly or should I try and focus on learning phrases used in a kitchen. Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated, and i hope to hear from any of you in this time of need, thank you very much for reading.

At this site which uses self-reported data from working people in Colombia, you can see the average monthly salary for a "Cocinero Chef" with 4 years experience in Bogotá is around 2.7 M COP.

http://www.tusalario.org/colombia/Porta … -salario#/

You should work on your Spanish overall, with emphasis on kitchen, tool and food vocabulary, IMO.  I'd go for a visit or two or three and present yourself to restaurants and show them your stuff, you might get an offer, you never know.

Nordhazen wrote:

should i keep trying to learn Spanish broadly or should I try and focus on learning phrases used in a kitchen.

All of the above. :)

cccmedia

The following website page is the best one I've seen for how to get a work visa for Colombia.

www.southamericaliving.com/how-to-obtai … -work-visa

Per the linked article, you will need a contract from your new employer .. and the cost of the visa is over $200, possibly payable by the employer.

According to both the above web page and a less-impressive article at medellinliving.com, a work visa applicant who obtains a job-offer in Colombia must leave La República and apply in Panama or another country with a COL consulate.

Your employer will probably assist you in the logistics of obtaining a Colombia work visa.