Use a migration lawyer or go it alone?

Hi,
Myself and my family have just started on the path to immigrating to Canada from the UK. Both myself and my husband seem to be eligible for visas (He's a truck driver, I'm a marketing manager) but the process is daunting. I was wondering if any of you used a migration lawyer or got your visas by doing it all yourself?
Did you make the right choice or do you wish you'd done it another way? We are looking to move to Canada permanently
Thank you in advance
Jo

You don't need an Immigration Lawyer or Immigration Consultant, unless you're completely incapable of dealing with bureaucratic processes. In fact, Citizenship and Immigration Canada warns on their website to beware of fraudulent consultants and lawyers who will take your money and do absolutely nothing. Even the reputable ones will do little beyond what you can do yourself for free online through CIC's government website.  www.cic.gc.ca/english

If you do use a Immigrations Consultant make sure to ask for their ICCRC registration number and check them out online first.  If you use a lawyer, contact the Law Society of the province he/she  practices in to see if there are any complaints.

See the following topic for more information:  https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=376293

Cheers,
James
https://www.expat.com Experts Team

The use of a immigration consultant is meant to ease the pain of deciphering the confusing instructions that CIC. There are many unspoken or unwritten rules too that only a very experienced immigration consultant can help you with in advoiding potential pitfalls. Besides a registered and qualified consultant have a more direct line to the CIC folks that ordinary applicants don't. If you were a single adult, that isn't too busy, I'd say go at it on your own. But with a family, IMHO, I'd go with a consultant to mitigate the risk.