Job interviews malta

Back in the states as an IT guy I will usually wear some decent slacks or jeans and a long sleeve button up shirt to an interview....   

Are most companies in Malta pretty relaxed about these things or is it a suit and tie or just a tie occasion?

Every country I have worked in is a bit different.   What are the Rules in Malta?

I know this sounds a bit silly, but it is something that's good to know?

I work in IT here and I'd say it's more relaxed than the mid-west of the USA...daily attire where I work is jeans and t-shirt, but I don't know about for interview purposes as I interviewed through skype so they only saw me from the waist up ;-)

I can ask my colleagues on Monday and let you know.

Good luck
Tim

I went on a job interview for a P/A position and there were others in the waiting room also interviewing. They were all in casual clothes and  I was in a suit. I dont know if it had anthing to do with it, but I got the job. It does depend on the job you're applying for, but I personally think its better to be overdressed than under...shows you're serious.You can always lose the jacket and tie if you see the place is really laid back.

The IT guys that come in to fix our compters are always dressed nice.

It probably depends on the sector that job is in too - an IT job for a Bank probably has a different dress-code than the same IT job in the "entertainment" industry. But yes, I agree, it's probably better to be over than under dressed....but hopefully they will look beyond your clothing choices!

Thank you all that is very helpful.

I just flew in for an Interview and went for the suit option.

I was going to Interview over skype but i felt that actually flying out there to do a face to face showed a bit more commitment to the company... any thoughts ??

Sorry hijacking your thread ;)