Labor law

Hi there,

does anyone know if there's a part in the Kuwaiti Labor law that states that the company is not allowed to let the employees work more than 12 hours per day?

Thanks.

Got my answer - thanks :)

Thanks ;)!!

The new labor law states that:

- Maximum regular working hours: 48 hr/week
- Maximum working days/week: 6 days/week
- Maximum daily overtime work: 2 hrs/day
- Maximum annual overtime work: 180 hrs/year

Which means 10 hrs/day is allowed and includes 2 hours overtime but not all year long (every 2nd working day I would say).

Thanks, Adnan

before there was no such law but now they have introduced such law about 1/2 months ago.

I'm very new in Kuwait and don't know the norms here and I am just wondering if reporting 7am to 5pm considered a 10-hr workday? Thanks

@holdcardsdown,
Thanks for the information, however those are clear to me. My concern is actually not related to maximum working hours allowed. Well, I work in construction site on that shift and I get a fixed monthly pay which is equivalent to the basic salary mentioned on my offer letter. Basic normally means exclusive of overtime pay. It's probable that I am not getting paid for the 2 hours extra work if 7am-5pm is indeed 10 hours work. Anyway, I better check with our HR for an explanation.

I am still trying to understand the situation with regards to working Saturdays, working over 8 hours a day, etc. My number one question at the moment is: is it legal for a company to ask you to work Saturdays if it is not stated in your contract that you will have to do so? I understand different companies have different policies, but I find it strange that they choose not to include information like that and then have expats fly in from various countries around the world where they may have always worked a five-day week and then find out that they are to work a six-day week for no extra pay. Very dubious. Haven't found anything in the labour law about it...