Considering teaching English in Vietnam

Hello group,

My name is Mark and I'm probably a bit older that most newcomers to the blogosphere, but I'm considering making a move across the pond and could use some current information on the situation on the ground in my potential chosen new home.

A bit about me, I'm a 50+ y.o. energy professional and my current contract is up at the end of the year. I've been looking at one of three paths and teaching English abroad has captured my imagination. I was dating a Chinese woman a few years ago and contemplated teaching in China, but my age was restrictive in China along with, well it being China. I've been an instructor previously in the Navy and have done a significant number of presentations to professional and casual audiences. My energy experience is in conventional and renewable technologies (solar, wind and biopower), plus I've been a business owner and for hire COO within the renewable distribution arena.

As part of my research I've been looking at several countries and companies that offer TESOL along with visa support and a "guaranteed" placement, cell phone, blah, blah, blah. I've researched county and company fairly extensively, but there is nothing like getting feedback from in country.

My main questions are the opportunities for teaching English in Vietnam. I am supposing the job guarantee is true, but I would like to find additional opportunities for reaching out to professional groups for business conversational tutoring in the major cities. I also have hundreds of questions about local and US taxes, banking, insurance, etc. I'll look on this site for answers to many of my questions.

Any help or guidance from the group would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards,

Mark

Welcome!
Almost every questions already answered here. You can check old threads for details about living in Vietnam, teaching possibilities,etc.