Postal Service, regarding parcels.

I know that it may depend upon which company is used but what is the usual way of receiving parcels from UK to Malta/Gozo?
I have no experience of this yet.
I ask because I have heard various stories and one is that I will have to go to the local Post Office to collect any, yet I read that various companies deliver to the door.
I have also been told that if I were to receive a parcel I would have to open it at the PO in front of staff and this includes fully unwrapping Christmas presents and similar. If true, that obviously spoils any surprise and undoes the work of the giver.
What company would others recommend for sending parcels from UK to Malta?

Thanks, :)

From within the EU  we have had no problems with parcels sent via the post office of the country involved. Never had to open a parcel received from anywere and Malta post will deliver to your home first, if you are out they will put a slip through the letter box explaining where and when you can collect it.
If you order stuff from outside the EU you may have to pay tyax on it and they may open the parcel but this is done before you get it and you are advised before hand, they may also require you to collect it.
We also use Malta post send on service and have found it OK.
I have had one parcel delivered by a private firm (ups) it was very very expensive item and should have been signed for however the guy came in a little white unmarked van  and just handed it to me without any check on who I was or having to sign for it!

Terry

ditto terry - i had a parcel sent to me from china and it had to be opened up and examined by customs for value - on which i then had to opay 18% vat and 6 euro admin charges. As it was a free of charge sample for beta testing I wasnt to bothered as it served its purposes for me too.