New to Malaysia

Hello Friends..M Kunal here..M an Indian..Basically from Punjab, working in Delhi.
I am having an job offer from Malaysia
I am an Electrical Engineer with 5 Years of Experience in Engineering of on shore projects in Oil & Gas Sector. Company is providing me 7000 RM +Family accommodation (Furnished)& Transportation..My salary shall be taxfree. All tax shall be paid by Company only.
Please tell me how is the offer & how much saving i can expect..
Thanks in Advance

this is a good offer. if accomodation and transport is paid, then u can live a good life and save half ur salary or more. depends on your style of living. r u married and have kids?

Actually a very pot offer. Ten years ago 20-30 k a month as oil industry assuming you are not new - hard dangerous work. Obviously a bit less if Indian - fact of life i am afraid - but rates so low now? Could be due to massive unemployment pushing rates way down.

You can live on it ok - it won't make you rich assuming no kids. If you have school age children then you won't save.

My main caveat is make sure you find out what real rates are now. This forum isn't the best place to ask for this kind of job. Try industry contacts if you have experience as mine is ten years out of date.

I am a single. I am pure vegetarian...I can cook at home. However some times i like to have food outside..I am not much luxury freak..I mean i believe in simple life n food..i love to watch movies, sight seeing & spending time with friends...

nemo, its a culture thing mate. i enjoy a party lifestyle but most indians live a simple lifestyle.

kunal, u dont have to worry bout kids and international schooling. thats a whole other crazy side. plus ur not married. ur ok to come :-) if u find it tough, complete ur contract and head back. life is a lot more peaceful than back in india.

if ur veg and ur company is providing accom, pay close attention to where u r staying. brickfields or little india can b a good option.