Move to Malta

Hi

This is just a general enquiry as I have only just started considering a move to Malta from the UK.  I have a 9 year old daughter so obviously schooling is a top priority for me.  Are there specific English speaking schools (like in Spain) or are all schools English speaking.  I am wondering whether to let her complete her Junior years here and move before secondary? 

As for myself, I am an administrator/secretary and wondered how the work was out there for myself.  I also have beauty therapy skills - which do you think is most needed out there?

Also what is the average rent on a 2 bedroom apartment and is the cost of living cheaper than London? 

So many questions! Thank you for your time!

Estelle

Hi, may I suggest you look through these threads as some of your questions may be answered there. As far as I know only private schools teach in English. No doubt someone else will be better informed than me.

https://www.expat.com/forum/341-6-study-in-malta.htmlhttps://www.expat.com/forum/341-6-study-in-malta.htmlhttps://www.expat.com/forum/341-5-work-in-malta.htmlhttps://www.expat.com/forum/341-20-chil … malta.html

All schools are English-speaking "officially"
In fact, lessons for Maltese and Religion are held in Maltese, obviously. And some lessons are chosen by the school (in our primary school the lesson "Social Studies" is held in Maltese).

The same story for church schools, and it's quite difficult to enroll here.

Private schools are English-speaking totally, but quite expensive. Anyway, in comparing with England... not so expensive probably :)

9 years old is Year 5, so approx 1000-1500 EUR per trimestr in private school

Hi Estelle,

welcome to the forum.

To be honest, your job skills are not exactly the ones that are looked for in Malta.

Administrator/secretary usually requires Maltese language and is not well paid.