Just moved to Riyadh from California

Hey Guys. I'm an Interior designer from Los Angeles, recently moved to Riyadh.

So far, it isn't so bad just some crazy driving, hot weather, and no side walks to take a walk on..lol. How do you meet people, find events, etc. here? I heard Riyadh its extremely strict on many levels.

Don't be shy, say Hi. I don't bite :)

Welcome to the forum.
Wow, bit of a culture shock? I live in fear of the roads! aha.

this forums pretty good for meeting people,
they are mostly lovely! :P

Hello Doseyana and welcome to Expat.com.

Do not hesitate to browse and participate to the Riyadh forum.

Thanks,
Aurélie

Doseyana wrote:

So far, it isn't so bad just some crazy driving, hot weather, and no side walks to take a walk on..lol. How do you meet people, find events, etc. here? I heard Riyadh its extremely strict on many levels.

Hey @Doseyana, Welcome to EB and Riyadh.

Yes, Riyadh is too conservatively Islamic as compared to 2 other big cities (Dammam & Jeddah). But soon you'll get settled and I hope you'll enjoy your time here :)

britgirly wrote:

Welcome to the forum.
Wow, bit of a culture shock? I live in fear of the roads! aha.

this forums pretty good for meeting people,
they are mostly lovely! :P

The culture shock was a descent amount. I'm sort of used to looking at different styles and fashion when I'm walking around. Here, its black and white, and a little bit of red..lol

lets see how good this forum is in meeting people.

@TheLegendLeads , I sure hope so.

Welcome to riyadh and here in expat... Wish you enjoy your stay here... This blog site will help new e pat alot to find friends and share different ideas... Feel free to voice out... Lol... Good luck...

Welcome aboard! Hopefully we'll able to set up or attend different types of events if all goes well. As for the driving, you should be used to all that crazy driving with all those exotic cars with all that tuning going on back in Cali.