(Job in Japan) Is it an interesting offer?

Hi,

I have found a job offer in Nagoya, Japan, I think I am suitable for the job, and I'd like to know if you think it is a good offer.

> It's a job in IT (technician/engineer level)
> The employer pays the visa and the accommodation
> The salary is  250 000 yen

Is it an interesting offer?

Thanks

Julien - dreaming about Japan -

Julian, sounds like a killer deal!  I'm not good with exchange rates, and even less with yen.  But one thing to consider is the pay versus cost of living. 

All in all I certainly wish you the best of luck Julian!  You don't realize how lucky you are! :)

Hi Julien,
I don't know anything about cost of living in Japan either, but the deal sounds good as they pay the visa and the accomodation.
I wish you all the best in your research.
Let us know! :)
Caroline

What's that 250,000 Yen salary, per month???
I hope it's not per year, as thats only 1250 odd Pounds Sterling.

Hmmm, let me see. I live in Matsudo. It's NE of the centre of Tokyo, which is commutable by train in 30 minutes. My company pays my commuting costs. My company does not pay accomadation costs. Where I live, house is a lot cheaper than the centre of Tokyo. I am paying 125000 per month on rent. This is for a 1 main bedroom, 1 tatami room (so a bedroom and dining room at the same time), a lounge room, kitchen, and a study room. I could of got a cheaper place, but it becomes less convenient.
You are lucky that the company pays for your accom.
Let me see, basic food costs. At minimum, look at 16000Yen per week for food. Not factoring in alcohol and easting out here.

Ahhh, OK, lets have a look at my expenses chart....
All of this is per month...
Water : 945Yen
Gas : 3545Yen. Probably going to start increasing a lot in the future
Electricty : 6500Ye. As above!
Yahoo 45Mb Broadband Internet : 8387Yen
NTT : Basic phone line : 2500Yen
Vodafone (Two phones, mine and wifes) : 5000Yen
General Food Costs : 60000Yen ish