Canadian Filing for Annulment, Married to a Filipina.

Hello,

I hope i can get some valuable insight here.

I am a Canadian living here in The Philippines

My wife and I have agreed to file annulment after being separated since 2018.
We got Married in Canada in 2013.

Can anyone recommend Marriage Lawyer who specializes in this circumstance ?  As we were married in Canada,  It is my understanding that the Annulment will need to be filed in Canada.

what would be the best way to do so ?

Thanks for any help to guide me in the right direction on this.

Im no expert at such. Im expert at business laws  :lol: 

I suppouse Canada dont has annulments, but divorces.
But if divorce abroad then s the question to make it valid in Philippins too

I also thought that if the marriage occurred outside the Philippines then divorce in the same country was adequate. I don't believe you need to do an annulment, and  certainly hope not as they can be an exceptionally long process.

My wife's sister went through an annulment in the Philippines. It took 3 years and cost quite a bit of money and frustration. She was living just south of Tacloban, Letye but the marriage took place in Biliran Island so she had to travel to Naval, Biliran many times, and it took a whole day for the round trip. Probably half or more times she showed up to the court just to find the judge had taken the day off. When it came time to render the decision the judge asked for a donation of P100,000. He settled for P60,000 after some bargaining and the marriage was annulled. It must have leaked that she had an American suitor anxious to get it done.

kristopherryan wrote:

Hello,

I hope i can get some valuable insight here.

I am a Canadian living here in The Philippines

My wife and I have agreed to file annulment after being separated since 2018.
We got Married in Canada in 2013.