Construction loan to build house in Puerto Rico

Hello,
I'm a Veteran and I would like to build a house in Puerto Rico. Which bank did you use that offered a construction loan to build your house? Could you explain in detail what information does the bank need to be approved for the loan and if possible the credit score needed to be approved? How many months did it take to finish building? How big was the house? Approximately how much did it all cost in the end? The VA has a program called the VA construction loan that allows us to build a house but it's tough finding a lender.

Hi NobodyCares,

I would like to inform you that i have created a new thread with your post in the Puerto Rico forum so that you can get better and quicker feedback from our members.

Thank you,

Priscilla
Expat.com Team  :cheers:

thank you

Just a tip to win an approval construction loan. Be good or to have good credit to reduce the risk. Lenders require borrowers to have a credit score of I think 680. I believe you can work on that in Puerto Rico too. Try FirstBank VI in Puerto Rico. God bless!

I can only tell you about my experience, so far, with Banco Popular.

They require a 750+ Fico score. If you own the property, they will only give you 45% of its value as equity. If you don't, they will finance the land, max 50% but, this will cause issues with a construction loan as they only allow you one loan at a time. They did say there was a way to consolidate. I bought the land for cash so didn't pursue  this. The max loan to value is 70%, so understand what the likely value of the finished home will be before you go down this path.

The construction loan has an interest rate of 4.5% with 9.25% APR as they charge 4 points. Additionally, they told me they would not even review an application until all drawings, approvals, permits and even a signed contract with a qualified builder, 3 references, were in place.