Visa Extension or Visa "Renewal"?

I'm not a visa expert, but I thought perhaps we could have a conversation about the difference between getting a visa extension vs a brand new visa.

*As I understand it* (apologies if it's a ramble)

Recent restrictions on exiting and reentering Vietnam have caused many people to apply for a visa extension when they might normally be getting a new visa (sometimes called a "visa renewal").

Actually it seems, it is a visa "extension" which "renews" the same, exact visa.

A new visa is just that: a totally brand new document which requires exiting Vietnam and reentry, while an "extension" allows a person to remain in Vietnam.

(A third, illegal option is often used, but I won't discuss it in my post)

We've also been talking about the prices from agents, with some people accusing the agents of inflating visa prices.

I'm definitely sure there are some agents who do that.

But remember: ANY quotes we receive from an agency are for that agency only.

We simply can't use the fees from one agency to paint a picture of what all agents are doing.

Also, it's ALWAYS more expensive to EXTEND a Visa than it is to simply purchase a NEW visa.

Think about what's being done (as far as immigration and the agent are concerned) and it's easy to understand why that's so:

The agent sponsors your NEW visa with little risk.

However, after you have been living in Vietnam and the agent sponsors your visa RENEWAL, your actions while in Vietnam COULD come into question:

Have you been working illegally or been involved in "undesirable" activities?

And why the heck do you need to have more time being a genuine tourist, if that's all you are doing?