Road Trip

Ok, so having never ridden a scooter before.. and having seen top gear do the four HCM to Ha Long trip.. 

How easy or risky would it be ? As I don't have a licence I would have to use a 50cc scooter ? Is it possible ? I have zero knowledge about scooters or motorbikes.

If it's possible how long should I allow ? What essentials are needed ?

Just planning or idea stage at the moment and  no timescale either

This is what happens when you have too much free time ... Maybe I should buy a PS4 after all

Have you written a will out? Just saying.
Whistler

Ahhh I just read somewhere else that 50cc won't be suitable..
Then read horror stories about others who have tried... Time to convert UK licence for car to VN one.

Like many ideas after being out in the sun too long. Sounds good in theory

Jlgarbutt wrote:

Ahhh I just read somewhere else that 50cc won't be suitable..
Then read horror stories about others who have tried... Time to convert UK licence for car to VN one.

Like many ideas after being out in the sun too long. Sounds good in theory

forget the car,
1....Not being cheeky,  but have you checked the price of cars here?
2.....I think you will be lucky to get anyone to rent you one without them providing the driver.
3......OK less chance of you getting hurt in a car, but more chance of you hurting a Vietnamese on a scooter or bike or walking or what ever & then you are in BIG BIG trouble, believe me you better have a big bank account or ready to do some serious time in the Saigon Hilton! & if they see you are a foreigner even if they are not badly hurt you might have to fork out some serious cash if they decide they cant work for a month or two due to shock or back pain & you have to financially provide for the family until they feel they can go back to work!