Adult homesickness advice needed

Hi all,

Realise very few people will read this, yet alone reply. But I need to get it out there to people with experience.

I am Dackall, I'm from the south of England. I am a university graduate teaching English in China for 10 months (or supposed to be, 5 is sounding like too much already). And I really need your help.

I have only been in Changsha, China, for 2 weeks. And I am struggling with the homesickness. I've gotten over most of the culture shock, I'm sure I will see things that really shock me and show me I am the stranger in a strange land, but for the most part the things that bothered me no longer cause me to bat an eye. Which is great because in my first few days I almost called it quits.

But the homesickness levels are phenomenal. I would never have guessed it would affect me this much. To clarify, I am 23, have been to university and lived away from home for all of it, albeit at a fairly close university to home. But I managed to be fairly independent for 4 years. I've come here and found myself completely lost, unanchored and with massive separation issues. Making the homesick feeling a million times worse.

I talk to my family every day, most days more than once, and talk to my close friends every other day or so. I realise some people will say this is too often, but right now it is the only reason I have managed to stay as they have bolstered my confidence and made me feel less alone.

My question is simple, how do people deal with chronic homesickness and how long did it take to pass? Because I'm not sure I can stand it for months on end, and there is very little keeping me here if I did want to leave sharpish.

Sorry for the essay but as pretty much everyone says, it's good to get it out there.

I hope you will reply if you read this, I need all the support I can get.

Many thanks and best wishes,

Dackall

Dude, get to know the people so they aren't strange to you any more and make friends.