English teacher wages

Good evening,
I am currently living in Northern  Brazil in the state of Sergipe. I am starting to lay the foundation to become a private English teacher since I am the only native English speaker here. It is in high demand but I need an idea on what to charge. One  hour, for a small group or large group and also monthly. Any information will be greatly appreciated.

I don't know know about your area, but in the cities outside São Paulo R$50/p hour is a good starting rate......In demand teachers are known to go as high as R$100 + in the Capital.....but in the North of Brazil you going to struggle to charge that....

Thank you Steve for the fast response. Very helpful information

I would say that you have to tailor your price for your area. It's not going to be 1 size fits all.
You shave have different prices for different levels

Thank you for the information

I'm a private English tutor living in a city about an hour from Sao Paulo. However, I don't teach conversational English: I only teach TOEFL and SAT prep to college-bound foreign students. (My students are sons and daughters of foreign business executives temporarily stationed in Brazil, and all of my students attend a local, private American school.)

As others have mentioned, rates will vary depending on the area in which you live and the demand for your services. In my city, these days, I hear that even non-native English speakers, such as Brazilians, are charging R$ 100-120 per hour if the classes are held at the student's home. Also, I personally know of some native English speakers who are charging R$ 150-200 per hour.

Thank you for your reply. I started out teaching a friends family since they are moving to Canada and now everyone here wants to learn since I am the only native  speaker. By trade I am a engineer but having flexible hours and a better purpose driven life suits me better.